Our Reason


The Millennium Youth Entertainment Complex (MYEC) was constructed in 1999 on the former site of the Rosewood Shopping Center in East Austin. A collaboration between the City of Austin, HUD, and the Austin Rosewood Community Development Corporation, the Millennium was created to provide a safe, recreational environment for local youth.

Community leaders and citizens (deemed Promise Keepers) worked diligently to contribute to the project and have continued to promote its existence as a staple in the Rosewood District.

This 55,000 square-foot entertainment complex offers 16 bowling lanes, roller skating, a professional grade basketball court, a video arcade, a movie theater, and a food court. Each year, the Millennium hosts thousands of patrons in both community activities, fellowship, and commercial events. The venue routinely serves as a mega voting site for civic engagement, a resource distribution hub during a weather crisis, and as a meeting location for neighborhood planning and town halls.

The Millennium is dedicated to the memories of Tamika Ross (1976–1992) and Juan Cotera (1973–1996). While their deaths served as an inspiration for the creation of the building, today their spirits represent hope for the future and the promise of peace in the surrounding community.

Promise Keepers

  • Pharr Andrews
  • Ray Ates
  • Karen Box
  • Michael Bryant
  • Jenniffer Cole-Doyle
  • Robert Donnelly
  • Akwasi Evans
  • Gavino Fernandez
  • Rev. Frank Garrett
  • Vera Givens
  • Carol Hadnot
  • Saboor A. Hameed
  • Thomas Henderson
  • Larry Jackson
  • Rev. Sterling Lands II
  • Jan Lawson
  • Btron C. Marshall
  • Donnetta McCall
  • Eric Mitchel
  • Meagan Mitchell
  • Kendall Moss
  • Min. Cedric Muhammad
  • Gus Pena
  • Stephanie Pena
  • Robin Roberts-Harven
  • Velma Roberts
  • Christopher Smith
  • Dorothy Turner
  • Dr. Charles Urdy
  • Anthony White
  • Vanessa Woods
  • Tommy Wyatt 

Austin-Rosewood Community Development Corporation Board Members


  • Quincy Dunlap
  • Frances Jordan
  • Nelson Linder
  • Dr. Courtney Robinson
  • Dante Clemons
  • Joana Ortiz 
  • Anna Yego


Board of Advisory Directors: Kimberly Wright, Greg Smith

Tamika Ross

Juan Cotera